Sunday Pause: Happy Easter!

Happy Holy Week, friends :)

Since today is Easter, my Sunday Pause will be a bit special. Today, I want to talk about upliftment.

As summer rolls around, I have been busying myself with nothing. I came back from the Sorsogon trip last weekend, and have since then wasted time and ignored clutter by using the Internet endlessly.

I am not a fan of idleness, or of being limited by dependence. So sometimes I feel angry with myself for being in this situation or for being the person I never wanted to be.

I have always wanted to know the secret to feeling better, if there ever was one. I asked once, but it seemed few people really have an answer. Some people pointed to friends, others pointed to music or a timely nap. But those are relative; they depend on time, place, reason or person.

What lifts me up?

Sometimes people come at the right time. I don’t know how they do it, how they know when to come in or what to say. But when they do it, it works. I would wish for them to come in more often, but sometimes they lose their charm. That’s what I meant by them being relative.

And then sometimes, I think of something that I am thankful for, something of a wish come true, and it makes things feel better.

Two hundred days in love yesterday :) I was going to write about it last night, but I ran out of time and strong emotions. I love the way he’s always trying to keep me, keep us, together. Always trying so hard, always being so hopeful. I must try and remember to hold on.

There are plenty of things that get me down, things that scare me or hurt me. I think sometimes I just need to remember that I can defeat them. To think of how I can defeat them, and why I am capable. Never lose hope, as Boy always tells me. And I wish I could believe in my own courage the way my lovely Princess Maha seemed to.

Such upliftment gets me through because it’s something I can’t seem to offer myself. I try to feel better but I don’t know how to do it. I am lucky because once in a while people do it for me. And that’s something to be grateful for, this week and always.

It seems, therefore, that Sunday Pause is a bit more important than I give it credit for. It’s a time to face away from the bad things and be more grateful for the good things. It’s especially important to think about on Easter Sunday, remembering that we have a God that loves us unconditionally and could only want the best for us. That’s something to be grateful for. That’s an unbeatable uplifter.

More than that, I hope that one day I’ll be able to lift someone up to pass on the favor. Sometimes it’s pretty enlightening when you make someone else’s day. There’s something rewarding about giving. So I pray for something to give, and the will to give that something away.

I pray that I’ll be as brave as my true friends believe me to be, as strong, and as caring. I pray that things will get better, and that I will get better. And I pray to never forget what it means to lift and be lifted up.

“Where, O death, is your victory?
Where, O death, is your sting?”
(1 Cor 15:55)

1 comment
  1. Ceelyn Sy said:

    i like your photo. :)

A penny for your thoughts?

