Sunday Pause

What I’m Thankful For in the Past Week

It’s the second Sunday of sembreak, and I am doing well. Good things have been happening one after the other, especially these past few days.

Book Bench. I’ve fallen in love with my org and its people once more, thanks to the overnight planning seminar we had on Thursday and Friday. It was both fruitful and fun, and we emerged with new convictions and inside jokes. I was so incredibly happy to be with them.

My grades. I mentioned yesterday that my grades for the semester are higher than I expected them to be. If I bounce back into shape and pull my grades higher than ever, I can increase my chances of reaching my dream, that is to graduate from Ateneo with honors :)

Lastly, I wouldn’t have survived this hell semester if it weren’t for my wonderful best friend, who kept pushing me forward and telling me I could do it. You are God’s gift to me, dear, and I am thankful for you always.

What I’m Praying for in the Following Week

My past week of blessings has reminded me to remain hopeful, but to keep the goodness overflowing I know that I must work for it. And yes, sembreak is the perfect time to start.

When I was trudging through the semester, I looked at sembreak as my period of escape: to get away from it all, take a breather, and then return to start over. But ever since completing finals week, I only became determined to ensure this phase of indifference and mediocrity would not happen again. I’m praying to stick with this conviction, and that this break will be productive and well-spent.

And then, there are some words I have been postponing for some time, but they are coming up soon, and I hope I get them right. I can’t be open about this because it would defeat the whole purpose. But I have always wanted to be the person who makes things better (or at least tries her very best to), and this is a good time to exercise that promise.

God’s Most Important Words to Me This Week

Anna, my Book Bench President, recounted the story of Jesus’ encounter with the Samaritan woman at the well (John 4:1-27). We were all girls at the table, talking about heart breaks and aches. The following verses captures the whole message of what she was trying to tell us:

Jesus answered, “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” (John 4:13-14)

All we need is Jesus. At once, my heart fluttered and I knew she was right.

Finally, this verse is taken from today’s Gospel reading:

Jesus called them together and said, “You know that those who are regarded as rulers of the Gentiles lord it over them, and their high officials exercise authority over them. Not so with you. Instead, whoever wants to become great among you must be your servant, and whoever wants to be first must be slave of all.” (John 10:42-44)

To lead is to serve the people that I am leading ─ something that I must remember in all that I hope to do in the future and the near future. *Wink.

Have a blessed Sunday, friends! ♥

A penny for your thoughts?

