December: In other words…

In preparation for the end of the year, I decided to pull together a list of things I’d like to write about in the last month. This year, December has five Mondays, the last one coincidentally the very last day of the calendar. So I will spend these last Mondays writing about the years: last year, this year, and next.

Today’s topic is “in other words”, where I sum up my year and prepare for next year, using music, videos, pictures, lists, and other people’s words.

***

In songs:

A song to describe your year. I found this song while looking for something to motivate me through the new semesters, and it meant a little more than I expected. Because no matter how many times I screw up and get lost, the really important people seem to welcome me back with open arms.

A song to drive you through next year. Florence + the Machine will lend me their words.

In quotes:

A quote to sum up your year. I made a shortlist of quotes that meant something to me at some point this year, and then I cut them down again to something I could wrap around the whole twelve months. I ended up with the following:

“It had never occurred to me that our lives, which had been so closely interwoven, could unravel with such speed. If I’d known, maybe I’d have kept tighter hold of them.”
— Kazuo Ishiguro, Never Let Me Go

I have so many regrets, this year and beyond. There were so many chances that offered me a way out, so many things I could have done to be happy and good, but I let them all slip.

A quote to drive you through next year.

“I am driven by two main philosophies: know more about the world than I knew yesterday, and lessen the suffering of others. You’d be surprised how far that gets you.”
— Neil deGrasse Tyson

In videos:

A video that meant something to you this year. This was the year that I discovered people can do wonderful things to other people, just by trying to make their words the best they can be. This was also the year I fell in love with Sarah Kay and spoken word poetry.

A video that carries a message for you for next year. Unusual presentation, but the message is there.

In lists:

Items I crossed off my bucket-list this year:

  • Become an org officer
  • Ace a Philosophy paper
  • Become a World Vision sponsor

Items I can or want to cross off my bucket-list next year:

  • Get into dean’s list
  • Ace a Philosophy oral exam
  • Get published
  • Complete a Writing Project 365
  • Learn to cook

Three important things you learned this year.

  • I learned that there is something to the word “important” that we constantly overlook.
  • I learned that people are not their stories, but you need to know their stories to know them.
  • I learned that the beautiful and the real can rarely ever coincide.

Three questions you want answered next year.

  • What do I fight for? / What is important to me?
  • What do I want to do after graduation? (Yuck)
  • Are you coming back?

***

December series:
1. Then and now
2. In other words…
3. I’m sorry.
4. Thank you.
5. Now and then.

A penny for your thoughts?

