December: Thank You

In preparation for the end of the year, I decided to pull together a list of things I’d like to write about in the last month. This year, December has five Mondays, the last one coincidentally the very last day of the calendar. So I will spend these last Mondays writing about the years: last year, this year, and next.

Today’s topic is “Thank you”, where I celebrate all the ups and highs of the year! It’s Chhhhrrriiiisssstttmmmaaass tomorrow, and there is lots to be thankful for!!!

***

Talk about the people that made your year.

This year I was able to stay close (read: clingy) to some of my favorite people in the world, people that remind me most of home. However seldom we get to meet, I’m always at my happiest and best with them. Then there are my “colleagues” in Book Bench. I had to spend a lot of time with these people, and I got to meet their fun, quirky sides. John Green wrote in one of his novels, “That’s who you really like. The people you can think out loud in front of.” Almost all the time when I’m with them, I can really really feel that.

What were your favorite memories of the year?

My top three favorite memories of the year, in no order:

  • Bazooka Rocks festival, September 30, with Joy and AJ
  • MOA meet-up with AJ, Kris, Jeo, and Mikee
  • summer in Bahrain, after one and a half years of being away ♡
What happened this year that you are proud of?

Being elected as the Secretary-General of Book Bench, definitely! I’m not used to putting myself out there for praise and criticism, I’m not used to explaining why I deserve something more than someone else. But I’ve gone out of my comfort zone for Book Bench, because I can’t remember loving something this much!

When I think back to my grade-school or early high school years, I realize I’ve grown up a lot. For better or worse at different times, but in general I’ve grown up. I think for myself, I ask questions, I feel more pain, I fight for more relief, and I’m trying every day to value life a little bit more.

Write a list of ten things that you are grateful for this year.

1.My parents.
2. My siblings.
3. My school.
4. Opportunities.
5. My friends.
6. Being loved, supported, cared for, and believed in.
7. Knowing how to love, support, care for, and believe in others.
8. Big and little luxuries. (The new clothes I’m wearing, the old laptop I’m typing on!)
9. The challenges I’ve had to face, and the rewards that came after (some of) them.
10. A little strength, a pinch of knowing, and loads of lessons that keep me growing.

Write a letter to someone you need to thank.
I never got to thank you before you disappeared. Maybe it’s because I didn’t expect you to, or even want you to. Perhaps you didn’t really mean to. Anyway. Thank you. For that one late night, and the other one or two. I don’t remember. I just know that I enjoyed myself, and I learned a lot. I still don’t know your favorite color, or how you found that little habit of yours, or why you think the way you do. But I know that my favorite conversations are obscure and philosophical, and happen past midnight; and I learned that sometimes someone can notice me just because of my laugh. I learned what kind of person I might want to be, and what kind of person I might be looking for. It may sound kind of petty to you, I don’t know. But these things were very, very important to me, and I’ll hold on to them for a very long time, if not for the rest of my life. So, thank you. You have this little piece of my year, of me. Thank you.

***

December series:
1. Then and now
2. In other words…
3. I’m sorry.
4. Thank you.
5. Now and then.

A penny for your thoughts?

