December: Now and then

In preparation for the end of the year, I decided to pull together a list of things I’d like to write about in the last month. This year, December has five Mondays, the last one coincidentally the very last day of the calendar. So I will spend these last Mondays writing about the years: last year, this year, and next.

Today’s topic is “now and then”, where I begin my transition into the New Year, and bid farewell to 2012 once and for all.

***

Describe your year in one word. Was this year worth it?

This year was important. And I mean that in a way that is different from every other year, because every year is important. In 2012 I learned what that really even means. I learned the difference between necessary, good, special, helpful, and important. Some things mean everything, some mean nothing, and some mean something. 2012 wasn’t my greatest year, but it was something. It was one big question, I thought about and learned a lot. It was definitely important.

Where do you hope to be this time next year? Who do you hope to be?

Oh, man. There’s a lot that’s scheduled to happen to me next year: practicum, senior year, thesis, Book Bench. Those are big, life-changing things that will require a lot of extra efforts. I hope that this time next year, I will be looking back on those things and feeling nothing but grateful. I hope I will be a little braver, a little more accomplished, a little more contented with what I’ve done. I hope I will be someone I can be proud of.

Does anything scare you about next year?

Tons! Like I said in my last answer: practicum, senior year, thesis, and Book Bench. I have my work cut out for me, and I am terrified.

I have this little thing I do every year, on December 31 and January 1, I reflect on how I feel about the upcoming year. My instinct is usually more or less correct. 2008 felt like an awesome year (it was), 2009 felt like it was going to be a little low compared to ‘08 (it was), and 2010 felt like something was going to end (I graduated high school that year). So far, 2013 feels very foreign and rather surreal, and that feeling scares me a little bit. I don’t know what to expect from it.

Make yourself one challenge and one promise for next year.

Challenge: I will fall back in love with art and stay with it.
Promise: I will be muchier.

Write a letter to yourself a year from now. (Keep it in a time capsule, or send it via futureme)

* Because of the honest, personal note of my letter, I’ll be keeping it to myself. I’ve sent it via FutureMe, and if it does its job well, I’ll post it a year from now.

 

***

December series:
1. Then and now
2. In other words…
3. I’m sorry.
4. Thank you.
5. Now and then.

***

HAVE A SUPER DUPER WONDROUS NEW YEAR, EVERYONE!

A penny for your thoughts?

