“Beauty is a sanctuary.”

Herakut_poster

There were no classes on Friday because of Eid al Fitr so I took the chance to see HERAKUT’s live painting session at Fully Booked, The Fort. HERAKUT are an artist duo from Germany made up of Hera and Akut, two graffiti artists with very opposite styles.

Herakut

Beauty is a Sanctuary

Hera, my new goddess, has an incredible vision which she throws fearlessly onto the wall. (She’s also incredibly beautiful, friendly and funny.)

Hera

Akut

…while Akut has this eye for detail, which he manipulates with a skill he probably learned with experience. Hera creates bold outlines and Akut fills them in.

Akut

Herakut

But my favorite part of the mural has got to be…

Ang Kabataan

Hera

I really really love how they used very Filipino elements and images to paint their mural, because that makes it a gift from the artists to their audience. It also means that they learn something new wherever they go, which they bring to their next destination. That’s artistry.

Herakut

Even though their talent intimidated me, they also inspired me and made me miss art. I wish I had more time and space to go back to it. Who knows, maybe I’ll make the time and space. In the meantime, let me just fangirl over Hera some more.

1 comment

A penny for your thoughts?

