34th Manila International Book Fair

I don’t really get to have traditions or routines because I get bored so easily. But there are a few things I look forward to every year: Christmas with the family, my BFF’s visit to Manila, Manila Book Fair.

IMG_0034

I don’t even commit my “tradition” to a single person, because sometimes people can’t make it at the last minute. But I have been to MIBF every year since I came to Manila. It never stops feeling amazing to walk into that giant hall filled with stalls and stalls of books.

And then of course, there’s my ever-changing wishlist of books that needs attention.

IMG_0035 IMG_0044

IMG_0039

IMG_0048

It was not a graphic design book like I had assumed, but I still think that’d make an awesome motto for anything. “_______ Like You Give a Damn.” Watch me turn that into a blog post.

IMG_0054

IMG_0042

One of my favorite things about MIBF: finding awesome covers from other editions.
The newest Harry Potter covers were particularly wicked.

Too lazy to get a picture of my purchases because my sister and I have been passing my camera back and forth, but here’s what I got:

1. Tall Story, Candy Gourlay
2. No One Belongs Here More Than You, Miranda July
3. This is How You Lose Her, Miranda July

All for a grand total less than 1000. Honestly, it didn’t feel like enough. I usually buy more, spend more, and go home closer to the night, but I was tired and this was the day before I got sick. Still, I will never not love my MIBF visits. I already can’t wait for next year.

IMG_0049

A penny for your thoughts?

