October Daily, vol 03

Before anything else, guess what time of the year it is for me?

sembreak

It doesn’t mean I don’t have a lot of things to do, but it does mean I’m free from academics for a couple of weeks. And that deserves a yay! I missed a week of October Daily, and I am far too lazy to make up for all of them. So I’ll just pick up where I want to, to ruin an old cliché.

***

This blogging challenge is hosted by Mary of Secret Obsession. Link-up at her blog!

Day 14 : What are your Top 5 favorite posts in your blog?

1. On Time and Again is definitely my number one favorite post, and not just because it was Freshly Pressed. This post speaks loads about what goes on in my head about fifty-percent of the time that I’m not talking, and about the kind of writer, blogger, and story-teller I wanted to be. It’s very personal; it’s a topic I had been wanting to talk or write about for several months, maybe even a year, but never had the words or courage to do so. But I finally did, and it felt and sounded right, so I’m proud of it.

2-3. Ten Things I Know to be True, Part 1 and Part 2. It felt like cheating to list these as two items, but it also felt like cheating to list them as just one. Haha. One of my running categories (though I haven’t quite updated it…) is “Listography,” where I write posts with lists starting with “Ten Things I…” It’s proudly inspired by Sarah Kay, one of my favorite Spoken Word poets, during her TED talk. The idea is to create meaningful and personal lists from where you find stories that you can tell.

4.  Truth Thursday: We Have Forgotten is really recent, and it’s my first time writing for a prompt blog, Truth Thursdays. Every Thursday (Philippine time), they put up a prompt which you can interpret anyway you want, as long as you respect and treasure the truth while you write. You can write stories, fiction, or poetry. Then you link back and read what truths others have written. It’s one of the best prompt/link-ups I’ve ever found.

5. metaphors for sadness is an unbearably sad entry, and I think that’s why I treasure it. I have had so many encounters with sadness that I sometimes don’t struggle out of it anymore, I simply float in it and engage it. It’s full of questions, which is one way of facing my sadness. I ask, “What is sadness, and what is it for?” I never found the answers, I’m sorry. But I don’t think I’ll ever stop asking.

6 comments
  1. Finally good to see you back Apple! :) And Yay for sembreak! Btw, will you be graduating next year already? :D

    • Apple said:

      Yup, this March! Unless I fail a subject though, but I hope I don’t! Hahaha.

  2. Trish said:

    Your written articles are very beautiful and profound. I love them!!! Thank you for inspiring me, Apple. Enjoy your sembreak :)

    • Apple said:

      Thank you, Trish! I’m so happy you like them! :)

  3. Jeane said:

    Yay! Sembreak! I missed answering some of the prompts from the challenge too! I’m glad your back!

A penny for your thoughts?

