Link party

linkparty

Clicking links and reading saved-for-later articles has become more of a pastime lately. I add two articles to Pocket for every one I read, so it’s really going nowhere. But I really am enjoying my time, because I found some real gold in here.

***

I know what you think of me. This opinion piece is one of the best things I’ve read all year. It’s simply about the ordeal of accidentally finding out what someone really thinks about you, and not letting it get to your skin. I’m pretty sensitive about people’s thoughts of me, but this article wisely points out that someone’s criticism of you does not translate into their not loving you.

“Hearing other people’s uncensored opinions of you is an unpleasant reminder that you’re just another person in the world, and everyone else does not always view you in the forgiving light that you hope they do, making all allowances, always on your side. There’s something existentially alarming about finding out how little room we occupy, and how little allegiance we command, in other people’s heads.”

“We don’t give other people credit for the same interior complexity we take for granted in ourselves. … We can’t believe that anyone could be unkind to us and still be genuinely fond of us, although we do it all the time.”

“If we want the rewards of being loved we have to submit to the mortifying ordeal of being known.”

I appreciate this article, by the CEO of DoSomething.org, about mental health care as a concern of businesses. I have a soft spot for mental health issues, and I do believe that school and the work place are important places to talk about.

Jennifer Militello, among other authors, answers the question that haunts and plagues us writers: why write?I write to remember the self that inherits me every time another self dies. I write because I cannot lie still. I write to rue the world. To shake my fist. To be incredulous. I write to uncover the ruins. To ruin the ruins. I write to find the already found.

On my ever-growing list of articles or topics that I want to make my own version of, is this one: thirty people answer the very discomforting question, “What one unchangeable fact about life terrifies you?

6. “That every single person you know you will see for the very last time at some point. You will likely have no idea when this point comes, and for many of the people you still consider good friends, this may have already passed.”

10. “The people in charge, those making life or death decisions on a day to day basis, are winging it, just like the rest of us.”

27. “Often when I am on public transport or in large crowds, I suddenly realise that all of the people around me have just as much going on in their life as me and they are all thinking about things. Like, there is just so much consciousness going on all the time that I am completely unaware of. And this fact makes it so much easier not to care about those people, which is terrifying.”

I am not really a fan of this trend where your life advice gets summed up in stupid lists, but this one list from Relevant Magazine had some points I needed to bookmark.

I’m not gonna tell you that you’re beautiful: hands down one of the most beautiful things I have ever come across. I have to point out the occasional typo or error but, overlooking those, the article as a whole is beautiful, haunting, and real. It’s taking all my efforts to not quote lengthy sections of the post, but below are some favorites. Please do me a favor, ladies, and read this one until the very end.

“I’m not gonna stand here and tell you that you’re beautiful, like that’s gonna fix all your problems. Sorry, I just won’t. I’m not going to tell you of the worth you have. I’m not gonna wait for you to come to grips with whoever meets you on the other side of the mirror. I’m not gonna tell you that loving your curves makes everything better. Because what if it doesn’t?”

“I’m not gonna tell you that you’re beautiful. You have not needed to know you’re beauty so much as you’ve needed to see that you’re capable. I’m not going to tell you to just get over it. If it were that easy, maybe we’d all do it.”

“I’m not gonna turn you into a delicate line of poetry when you were born with so much feist & zeal & madness inside of you. How dare the world not tell you, right from the start, that you are some kind of warrior.”

“And the best thing you might be able to do today is get outside, thank the skies for this day, and be the best darn broken piece of lovely you can be.”

A penny for your thoughts?

