Ten Books I Plan To Read in 2015

10books

1. A Wild Sheep Chase, Haruki Murakami

This has actually been my “currently reading” book since October and I don’t see myself finishing it soon. Ergo, first on the list. I’ve read about five Murakami titles before starting this one, and this one is turning out to be my least favorite. I have two more from the prized author on this list, and I have high hopes.

2. Quiet, Susan Cain

Susan Cain is probably the modern introvert’s heroine. Whether you enjoy her work or not, you have to thank her for making introverts a hot topic in recent years. This book and her TED talk, “The power of introverts,” are arguably the most popular resources on introversion today. I got my copy at this year’s MIBF.

3. Yes Please, Amy Poehler

Amy Poehler is one of my heroines, after Hannah Brencher. I stumbled upon the book announcement when I was looking for more sources of Amy P. wisdom for me, particularly in written word. For some reason, I took it as some misdirected sign that I must buy the book immediately. I ordered it online and I believe it should have arrived at my permanent address by now.

4. Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage, Haruki Murakami

As soon as the news broke that Murakami was writing a new novel, it was all over my Facebook feed. Once translated and then distributed to Manila, I heard only the best feedback. I’m told it’s a solid, distinct book, even next to Murakami’s own titles. I don’t have a copy yet because I passed up the chance last MIBF. Maybe next year’s, or on my birthday, since I’m not in a rush to get it.

5. P.S. I Still Love You, Jenny Han

Most YA series that come out these days only get an eye-roll from me. Something in me felt like To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han would be different, so I went out of my way to get it. Best. Decision. Ever. Adjusting back to YA writing was hard, but To All The Boys was one of my favorite things in the world this year. The sequel comes out in June. BUY ME THIS.

6. Paano Ba ‘To?!, Bianca Gonzales

This is the most recent release on the list and the only Filipino title. I only recently paid attention to her posts, and I think Bianca Gonzales is a great local heroine and role model. BUY ME THIS.

7. If You Find This Letter, Hannah Brencher

Hannah Brencher is my personal heroine; her work and her way of writing are my soul’s goals. Hannah Brencher announcing a book was the among the best things to happen to me without directly affecting me this year. This is the only book on this list that I found off my own sources and not from referrals or reviews. Comes out in March. BUY ME THIS.

8. 18 Minutes, Peter Bregman

I found this at MIBF and decided to buy a book I knew nothing about. I’m not motivated to read it but I am still curious enough to pick it up in the end. If it delivers, I think it will be helpful for me at work.

9. We Were Liars, E. Lockhart

I was trying hard to ignore this book because it looks and sounds exactly like the kind of YA books that drove me away from the genre. It piqued my attention when it appeared on Goodreads’ (a) Choice Awards 2014 (b) “Mental Health” subcategory. This goes onto the list of books that I’m just going to give a chance. Extra points if someone highly recommends it to me.

10. Sputnik Sweetheart, Haruki Murakami

This is a wild card Murakami pick. BUY ME THIS.

***

Post-script: My writing game has been pretty slack lately, and I hate it. Writing this list was difficult. Publishing this post is harder because I’m letting it go in all its horrible glory. But I simply refuse to quit writing.

4 comments
    • Apple said:

      I look forward to them! Thank you!! :)

A penny for your thoughts?

